PROJECT | Staff Reporter, India

India to commission 21 nuclear reactors by 2031

The reactors are expected to have a total capacity of 15.7GW.

The Indian Department of Atomic Energy has outlined plans to commission 21 new nuclear power reactors with a combined generating capacity of 15,700 MW by 2031. 9 units are currently at various stages of construction and scheduled for completion by 2024-2025, including two units in each of the states of Gujarat, Rajasthan and Haryana along with an additional three units in Tamil Nadu. Besides, 12 additional reactors have reached financial close and have been granted administrative approval by the government, of which 10 new Pressurised Heavy Water Reactors (PHWRs) with a capacity of 700 MW each and 2 Light Water Reactors (LWRs) of 1,000 MW each.

Five other sites (namely Jaitapur in Maharashtra, Kovvada in Andhra Pradesh, Chhaya Mithi Virdi in Gujarat, Haripur in West Bengal and Bhimpur in Madhya Pradesh) have been conditionally approved by the government for the construction of a further 28 reactors.

The country currently has 22 operational reactors spread across 8 sites with a combined capacity of 6780 MWe. The largest site, Kudankulam in Tamil Nadu has two reactors VVER (917 MW each), commissioned in 2014 and 2016.

This article was originally published by Enerdata.

Photo by Sharada Prasad CS - Flickr, CC BY 2.0

Do you know more about this story? Contact us anonymously through this link.

Click here to learn about advertising, content sponsorship, events & rountables, custom media solutions, whitepaper writing, sales leads or eDM opportunities with us.

To get a media kit and information on advertising or sponsoring click here.